Boulder Creek Winery

My adorable niece

My adorable niece

Amidst a sea of negative news stories, I wanted to share a positive one.

In November-2009, my niece was born. This was one of the top-10 happiest days of my life. By contrast, the night before my niece was born was one of the most forgettable nights of my life, as some ass-face smashed my car window and stole my briefcase.

For the record, I don’t give much of a crap about my briefcase. It’s old, it contained a few gift cards, a pair of socks, my electric razor, my cell phone, and *no* computer. I hope the thief was supremely disappointed about the fact that he’d gone to all the trouble to commit a felony for a briefcase that contained little more than a few grooming items, footwear, and some Starbucks paraphernalia.

One sentimental item the briefcase *did* contain, however, was a $50 gift certificate for Boulder Creek Winery, which was missing when I recovered the glass-ridden briefcase. My sister bought the gift certificate for me as a “thank you” for standing up in her wedding, so losing that really pissed me off.

I reported the theft to the police, changed my bank account number, called the credit reporting agencies, etc… The final step I took was to call Boulder Creek Winery to tell them what happened. The conversation went something like this:

Me: (after I told them the sordid story)
BCW: We’ll just cancel the gift certificate and issue you a new one.
Me: Wow! Thank you!
BCW: You’re welcome. Also, if the thief tries to cash the gift certificate in our tasting room, we’ll take his driver’s license and hold it until the cops get here. I’m from the east coast, and we don’t put up with crap like this.
Me: This is as good as it gets. I’m speechless. Thank you.

The next day, I visited the Winery, tasted ten different wines, and bought ~$100 worth of wine and port ($50 of which with my replaced gift certificate).

Boulder Creek Winery’s gold-medal winning Zinfandel Port

Boulder Creek Winery’s gold-medal winning Zinfandel Port (as you can see, I already enjoyed most of this bottle)

Huge thanks to the folks at Boulder Creek. Excellent wine, nice people, and a great opportunity to buy quality products locally. Two serious thumbs up!

wine tasting at Boulder Creek Winery

Boulder Creek Winery is the perfect spot for wine tasting on a weekend afternoon… don’t forget to try the port!

Boulder Creek Winery folks

map

About unchainedeatery
As an unapologetic foodie, I patronize locally owned Denver and Boulder restaurants vetted by folks who live in those neighborhoods. You recommend 'em, I go try 'em, then I write about 'em. Then I go jogging.

One Response to Boulder Creek Winery

  1. Pingback: Beer snobbery in Boulder: Top-5 beer-friendly restaurants « the unchained eatery

Leave a Reply

